Our cacao

Simply the best Ritter Sport ever

The world of cacao

The world of cacao

Find out how we make the best chocolate

OUR CACAO

It's fair to say that we're real chocolate enthusiasts. After all, we've been making chocolate for a very long time. We work with people locally, who know everything about cacao and who share our passion for cacao and chocolate.

OUR PLEDGE

We promise to make high quality, delicious chocolate for everybody to enjoy.

The colourful taste of cacao

The colourful taste of cacao

No two cacao beans are the same

Specific geographical factors, such as climate, soil conditions and processes, gives our chocolate different tastes.

Cacao is divided into three different varieties: Criollo - tastes fruity and not very bitter, Forastero - tastes slightly bitter and has very high yields, and Trinitario - tastes fruity and less bitter.

Nicaragua

strong
cacao
nutty

Peru

fine
fruity
spicy

Ghana

mild
balanced
gently cacao taste

What kind of cacao is in your 
favourite chocolate?

What kind of cacao is in your 
favourite chocolate?

It’s all in the cacao bean.

This bar contains cacao from Peru

These bars contain cacao from Ghana

How does cacao grow?

How does cacao grow?

Cacao trees provide the most important ingredient needed for 
chocolate: the cacao beans.

CACAO TREE

When the flowers of the cacao tree are pollinated, cacao pods grow. It takes 4–6 years for a cacao tree to bear its first harvest. Trees grow up to 15 metres high, although those in plantations are supported at a height of 4 to 8 metres.

CACAO POD

The cacao pods hang straight from the trunk of the cacao tree and are hand-picked. A cacao tree produces 20–30 pods a year, or up to 50 pods in a good year.

CACAO BEANS

Inside the cacao pods are a large number of cacao beans. The cacao beans are the most important ingredient for our chocolate.

Pulp

The pulp is the white flesh of the cacao pod, surrounding the cacao beans.

Our cacao goals

Our cacao goals

We obtain our cacao through the best possible route

PERSONAL
PARTNERSHIPS

IN HARMONY WITH HUMANKIND

AND NATURE

Follow us on our journey:        
Did you know?

Did you know?

1 cacao pod =

1 bar of RITTER SPORT
Milk Chocolate
A cacao tree bears around 20–30 pods a year, or up to 50 in a good year.
Cacao pods grow around 15 to 30 centimetres long and 300 to 700g in weight. Their colour ranges from greenish to yellow or a reddish-purple.
Your favourite chocolate in 10 steps

Your favourite chocolate in 10 steps

From the cacao bean to the delicious square chocolate
1

Cacao tree

Cacao tree

KakaobCacao trees mainly grow in Africa, Asia and Southern/Central America. Depending on the species, the cacao tree may start to flower when it is between 18 months and 3 years old. After the flowers of the cacao tree have been pollinated, it takes about 5 to 6 months for the pollinated flowers to become ripe cacao pods. Every year, a cacao tree bears around 20 to 30 fruit, and in a good year up to 50.

2

Harvesting

Harvesting

When harvested, the cacao pods are about 15 to 30 centimetres in length and 300 to 700g in weight. Their colour ranges from greenish to yellow or a reddish-purple. It is extremely important to know the right time to harvest the pods, and this takes a lot of experience and knowledge. The pods are individually hand-picked straight from the cacao tree.

3

Fermentation

Fermentation

It is only when the cacao seeds are fermented that the precursors of the aroma form, which will later give the cacao its typical taste. First, the sugar in the fruit’s flesh is broken down with yeast. This creates alcohol. The pulp liquefies and separates from the cacao seeds.

4

Drying

Drying

After fermentation, the cacao beans have a very high moisture content. To reduce this to 5–7%, they are dried. From time to time they are turned over, as it is crucial for the cacao beans’ quality and storage that they are dried evenly and gently.

5

Transport and cleaning

Transport and cleaning

After fermentation and drying, the cacao beans are ready for transportation. Packed into jute or sisal sacks, they are taken in trucks to the ports, where they set off on the ocean voyage from the equatorial countries where they are grown to us in Waldenbuch, Germany. When the cacao beans arrive in Germany, they are often full not only of dust and sand, but also large pieces of foreign matter such as stones, wood or jute fibres. These impurities must be removed fully before processing.

6

Roasting

Roasting

Having been carefully cleaned, the cacao beans are roasted in machines, on metal grates or in large rotating drums using hot air. At temperatures between 130 and 150°C, the typical aroma of cacao and roasting develops, and the cacao beans turn a dark brown.

7

Shelling, cracking and grinding

Shelling, cracking and grinding

After roasting, the cacao beans need to cool down, and their shells are cracked and removed. A roller crushes the cacao beans into tiny pieces. A strong airflow and several sieving and shaking steps remove the lighter parts of the shells and any remaining impurities from the crushed cacao beans. When the beans have been broken into pieces, known as “nibs”, these are conveyed to the preparatory and fine milling stages, where they are ground and milled even more finely.

8

Mixing, pressing and refining

Mixing, pressing and refining

When the ingredients – milk powder, sugar and the cacao liquor – have been mixed, the mixture this produces moves on to the pressing and refining stages.

9

Conching and tempering

Conching and tempering

Conching gets its name from the conche, a shell-shaped vessel in which the chocolate powder produced by refining is firmly kneaded, mixed, aerated and finally liquefied. Depending on the type of chocolate, this finishing process can last up to 24 hours. During tempering, the chocolate is stirred continuously and gradually cooled down in the tempering machine in steps, following a pre-set temperature curve, from 45°C to about 28°C. Now the chocolate mass is ready to be poured into a mould.

10

Packaging

Packaging

For all our varieties, we use environmentally friendly single-material polypropylene flow wrapping. This can be recycled and is the ideal way to protect the product and its aroma, as it is almost fully resistant to light or smells. Every day, roughly 2.7 million 100g squares come off the packaging machines at RITTER SPORT.

Cocoa is global

Cocoa is global

We purchase cacao from various countries.

From Central and Southern America and Africa to Waldenbuch, and from there to wherever you are in the world. We let you know where our cacao comes from. In 2018 we became the first big manufacturer of chocolate bars to use 100% certified sustainable cacao.

EL CACAO

One of the world‘s biggest cacao plantation

Our “El Cacao” plantation in Nicaragua:

350 staff
1 million cacao trees
2,500 ha
We care about our cacao

We care about our cacao

Quality and transparency is important for our chocolate.
UTZ - Better farming Better Future
fairtrade cacao program

To make things run as smoothly as possible, this site uses cookies. If preferred you can deactivate these at any time under  privacy law .

Share RITTER-SPORT.us

close

UNSER KAKAO

Für die beste Ritter Sport aller Zeiten

Wir stellen die Kakaowelt auf den Kopf

Wir stellen die Kakaowelt auf den Kopf

Begleite uns auf dem Weg zur besten Schokolade

WOW
UNSER KAKAO

Man kann uns als echte Kakaoenthusiasten bezeichnen. Denn wir machen Kakao schon lange anders: direkt vor Ort, zusammen mit den Menschen, die sich auskennen und die gleiche Leidenschaft für Kakao und Schokolade teilen wie wir.


UNSER ANSPRUCH

Unser Ziel ist es für euch richtig gute Schokolade zu machen. Mit dem besten Geschmack und richtig guter Qualität.

So bunt schmeckt Kakao

So bunt schmeckt Kakao

Die Bohne macht den Unterschied. Kakao ist nicht gleich Kakao.

Wie beim Wein sorgen geografischen Spezifika wie Klima, Bodenbeschaffenheit und die unterschiedlichen Verarbeitungsprozesse für spannende Geschmacksnuancen bei unserem Kakao.

Man unterscheidet drei verschiedene Kakaosorten: Criollo - schmeckt fruchtig und wenig bitter, Forastero - schmeckt etwas bitter und ist sehr ertragreich und Trinitario - schmeckt fruchtig und wenig bitter.

Nicaragua

kräftig
kakaoig
nussig

Peru

fein
fruchtig
würzig

Ghana

mild
harmonisch
sanft kakaoig

Welcher Kakao steckt in deiner Lieblingsschokolade?

Welcher Kakao steckt in deiner
Lieblingsschokolade?

Die Kakaobohne macht den Unterschied

Hier steckt Kakao aus Nicaragua drin

Hier steckt Kakao aus Peru drin

Hier steckt Kakao aus Ghana drin

Wie wächst Kakao?

Wie wächst Kakao?

Kakaobäume liefern die wichtigste Zutat für Schokolade: die Kakaobohnen

Kakaobaum

Wenn die Blüten des Kakaobaums befruchtet werden, wachsen Kakaofrüchte heran. Es dauert 4-6 Jahre, bis ein Kakaobaum zum ersten Mal Früchte trägt. Er wird bis zu 15 Meter hoch, Plantagenbäume werden jedoch auf eine Höhe von vier bis acht Metern gestutzt

Kakaofrucht

Die Kakaofrüchte sitzen direkt am Stamm des Kakaobaums und werden von Hand geerntet. Ein Kakaobaum trägt im Jahr 20-30 Früchte, in guten Jahren bis zu 50 Früchte

Kakaobohnen

Im inneren der Kakaofrüchte befinden sich zahlreiche Kakaobohnen. Die Kakaobohnen sind die wichtigste Zutat für unsere Schokolade

Pulpa

Die Pulpa ist weißes Fruchtfleisch innerhalb der Kakaofrucht, das die Kakaobohnen umschließt

Unsere Kakao-Ziele

Unsere Kakao-Ziele

Wir beziehen unseren Kakao auf dem bestmöglichen Weg

PERSÖNLICHE
PARTNERSCHAFTEN

IN EINKLANG MIT MENSCH

UND NATUR

Folge uns auf unserem Weg:        
Schon gewusst?

Schon gewusst?

1x Kakaofrucht =
1 Tafel RITTER SPORT
Vollmilch
Ein Kakaobaum trägt ca. 20-30, in guten Jahren bis zu 50 Früchte im Jahr.
Kakaofrüchte werden ca. 15 bis 30 Zentimeter lang und 300 bis 700 Gramm schwer. Ihre Farbe reicht von grünlich über gelb bis rot-violett.
Lieblingsschokolade in 10 Schritten

Lieblingsschokolade in 10 Schritten

Von der Kakaobohne bis zum Schokoladen-Quadrat
1

Kakaobaum

Kakaobaum

Kakaobäume wachsen vor allem in Afrika, Asien und Süd- / Mittelamerika. Je nach Art beginnt der Kakaobaum im Alter zwischen 18 Monaten und drei Jahren zu blühen. Nachdem die Blüten des Kakaobaums befruchtet wurden, dauert es ca. 5 bis 6 Monate bis aus den befruchteten Blüten reife Kakaofrüchte entstehen. Pro Jahr trägt ein Kakaobaum etwa 20 bis 30, in guten Jahren bis zu 50 Früchte.

2

Ernte

Ernte

Zum Zeitpunkt der Ernte sind die Kakaofrüchte ca. 15 bis 30 Zentimeter lang und 300 bis 700 Gramm schwer. Ihre Farbe reicht von grünlich über gelb bis rot-violett. Den richtigen Zeitpunkt für die Ernte der Früchte zu kennen ist äußerst wichtig und verlangt viel Erfahrung und Wissen. Die Früchte werden einzeln von Hand direkt vom Kakaobaum geerntet.

3

Fermentation

Fermentation

Erst durch die Fermentation der Kakaosamen entstehen die Aromastoffvorstufen, die später das typische Kakaoaroma ausbilden. Zunächst wird der im Fruchtfleisch enthaltene Zucker mit Hilfe von Hefen abgebaut. Dabei entsteht Alkohol. Das Fruchtfleisch verflüssigt sich und trennt sich von den Kakaosamen.

4

Trockung

Trockung

Nach der Fermentation enthalten die Kakaobohnen sehr viel Feuchtigkeit. Um ihren Feuchtigkeitsgehalt auf 5 - 7% zu reduzieren, werden sie getrocknet. Von Zeit zu Zeit werden sie gewendet, denn eine gleichmäßige, schonende Trocknung von allen Seiten ist entscheidend für die Qualität und Lagerfähigkeit der Kakaobohnen.

5

Transport & Reinigung

Transport & Reinigung

Nach der Fermentation und der Trockung sind die Kakaobohnen bereit für den Transport. Abgefüllt in Jute- oder Sisalsäcken, gelangen sie mit LKWs zu den Häfen, in denen sie die Seereise von den äquatorialen Anbauländern zu uns nach Waldenbuch/Deutschland antreten. Wenn die Kakaobohnen in Deutschland angekommen sind, enthalten sie neben Staub und Sand oftmals auch noch grobe Fremdmaterialien wie Steine, Holz oder Jutefasern. Diese Verunreinigungen müssen vor der Verarbeitung vollständig entfernt werden.

6

Röstung

Röstung

Nach ihrer sorgfältigen Reinigung werden die Kakaobohnen in Röstmaschinen, auf Gitterrosten oder in großen rotierenden Trommeln mit Heißluft geröstet. Bei Temperaturen zwischen 130 -150°C entwickeln sich das typische Kakao- und Röstaroma und die dunkelbraune Farbe der Kakaobohnen.

7

Schälen, Brechen & Mahlen

Schälen, Brechen & Mahlen

Nach dem Rösten müssen die Kakaobohnen abkühlen und durch Brechen und Schälen von ihrer Schale befreit werden. Eine Walze zertrümmert die Kakaobohnen in kleine Stücke. Ein kräftiger Luftstrom und mehrere Sieb- und Rüttelstufen entfernen die leichteren Schalenteile sowie letzte Unreinheiten vom Kakaokernbruch. Nachdem die Kakaobohnen zu Kakaokernsplittern, dem so genannten Nibs, gebrochen wurden, wird dieser zu den Vor- und Feinmühlen weitergeleitet und dort noch feiner zerkleinert und gemahlen.

8

Mischen, Walzen & Feinwalzen

Mischen, Walzen & Feinwalzen

Nachdem die Zutaten Milchpulver, Zucker, Kakaomasse im Kneter miteinander vermischt wurden, geht es für das dadurch entstandene Knetgut zum Walzen und Feinwalzen.

9

Conchieren & Temperieren

Conchieren & Temperieren

Das Conchieren hat seinen Namen von der Conche, einem muschelförmigen Behälter, in dem das beim Feinwalzen entstandene Schokoladenpulver kräftig geknetet, gemischt, durchlüftet und schließlich verflüssigt wird. Dieser Veredelungsprozess kann je nach Schokoladensorte bis zu 24 Stunden dauern. Beim Temperieren wird die Schokolade in der Temperiermaschine unter ständigem Rühren entlang einer festgelegten Temperaturkurve schrittweise von 45°C auf circa 28°C abgekühlt. Jetzt ist die Schokoladenmasse bereit in Form gegossen zu werden.

10

Verpacken

Verpacken

Wir  nutzen für alle unsere Sorten eine umweltfreundliche Schlauchbeutel- Einstoffverpackung aus Polypropylen. Sie ist recyclingfähig und bietet optimalen Produkt- und Aromaschutz, da sie praktisch licht- und geruchsundurchlässig ist. Pro Tag durchlaufen circa 2,7 Millionen 100-g-Quadrate die Packmaschinen bei RITTER SPORT.

Kakao ist ein Weltenbummler

Kakao ist ein Weltenbummler

Wir beziehen Kakao aus unterschiedlichen Anbauländern

Von Südamerika und Afrika nach Waldenbuch (Deutschland) und von dort zu euch in die ganze Welt. Wir zeigen euch, von wo wir unseren Kakao beziehen. Seit 2018 beziehen wir als erster großer Tafelschokoladen-Hersteller zu 100% zertifiziert nachhaltigen Kakao.

EL CACAO

Eines der größten Kakaoanbaugebiete der Welt

Unsere Kakaoplantage „El Cacao“ in Nicaragua:

350 Mitarbeiter
1 Mio. Kakaobäume
2.500 ha
1 Don Schoko
Mehr Infos im Blog
 
Nachhaltig und Fair

Nachhaltig und Fair

Wir wollen maximale Transparenz und Qualität für unseren Kakao.
UTZ - Better farming Better Future
fairtrade cocoa program

Für einen optimalen Ablauf verwendet diese Seite Cookies. Auf Wunsch können Sie diese unter  Datenschutzbestimmungen jederzeit deaktivieren...

RITTER-SPORT.de teilen

close